Coaches Association of Ontario Celebrates Coaching Excellence at Annual Conference

Tuesday March 2nd, 2010


For immediate release

March 1, 2010




Guelph: The Coaches Association of Ontario celebrated nine outstanding coaches from all levels of sport at the 2010 Coaching Excellence Awards this past weekend. The awards took place on the second evening of the Ontario Coaches Conference which ran from February 26-28, 2010 in Guelph. 


Close to 300 coaches and sport administrators from a variety of sports gathered at the annual conference to network, share and work towards a higher level of NCCP certification.  The Quest for Gold lottery made this possible.


The awards ceremony was once again the crown jewel of the conference, an opportunity for top coaches to be honoured by their peers for the ongoing and significant contributions they make to both their sports and athletes.


We’re so proud of all our award recipients and the positive impact they have on the Ontario sport community,” says Susan Kitchen, Coaches Association of Ontario’s Executive Director. “All nine awards winners have been extremely influential in their roles and deserve to be recognized and celebrated."


Stopwatch - $12; whistle - $19; ringette coaching course - $50; the impact you can make on children over a lifetime through coaching…priceless,” summed up Coach Brian Tapscott’s acceptance speech, one of the many heartfelt speeches given at the sold out dinner.


Cycling Coach Denise Kelly, along with Jim Flynn, Rugby Coach was on hand to emcee the awards ceremony, and highlight the many accomplishments of the award recipients, and provide a bit of humour and class to the evening.


The following are the winners of 2010 Ontario Coaching Excellence Awards:



Ron Angus, Burlington, Ontario (Judo)

Dianne Huneault, Oakville, Ontario (Field Hockey)


School Sports (OFSAA):

Lorne Smith, Toronto, Ontario (Basketball)

Kathy Garvey, Peterborough, Ontario (Gymnastics, Volleyball, Field Hockey, Track & Field, Basketball)




Randy Thomas, Pickering, Ontario (Hockey)

Janine Day, Sarnia, Ontario (Basketball)


High Performance:

Dean Boles, Toronto, Ontario (Swimming)

Svetlana Joukova, Richmond Hill, Ontario (Rhythmic Gymnastics)


Investor’s Group Volunteer Sport Administrator Award:

Brian Tapscott, Guelph, Ontario (Ringette)


The CAO congratulates all of the award winners and thanks them for their commitment to sport in Ontario.


The Coaches Association of Ontario is a non-profit coach-led organization that strengthens development opportunities and provides educational resources for coaches. The CAO promotes coaching ethics and ensures the wider community recognizes the vital role of the coach in the development of sport at all levels.




Media Contact:

Jessica Taggio

Manager, Marketing & Communication

Coaches Association of Ontario





logo_otf logo_ont logo_qfg logo_cao logo_ig

View more press releases